Sunday, December 31, 2017

The Future of This Blog

Today marks the end of another year and I thought it would be a good time to talk about what I plan to do with this blog going forward. No, I'm not planning on closing it, but there may be changes heading into the new year.

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Hey Arnold! The Jungle Movie

Image source: NickALive!/Nickelodeon
I remember watching a little Hey Arnold! when I was a kid, but I don't think it was a whole lot. I don't think I saw The Journal when I was younger, so I wasn't aware the show ended on a cliffhanger until a few years ago. It was originally going to have a feature film (the one it did get was initially made for TV), but it got cancelled. I ended up getting more into the show thanks to NickSplat.

Even then, I didn't think it would happen because Hey Arnold! hadn't been relevant for years and kids today probably wouldn't know about it. Shortly after though, I heard that Craig Bartlett had been in talks with Nick to bring Hey Arnold! back. Then later in the year, Nick announced that they were looking into reviving old shows and that Hey Arnold! was one of them. Then a couple months later, Nick announced that a Hey Arnold! TV movie was in development and it was later announced to be The Jungle Movie. What once seemed impossible finally happened.

Saturday, November 18, 2017

DuckTales (2017)

Image source: Google Play
I've never seen much of the original DuckTales. It was a little before my time, and if I did see it when I was a kid, I was probably really young and don't remember it. I did, however, see a little leading up to the reboot, and I like what I did see. When I heard that it was being rebooted, I was indifferent since I didn't have any memories of the original, although I did like what we got leading up to the premiere.

Friday, October 13, 2017

My Little Pony: The Movie (2017)

Image source: Equestria Daily
When I started this blog nearly 3 years ago, I considered myself a brony (with my first review even being of the second Equestria Girls movie), and still do to some extent, but I'm not as into MLP as I used to be. I think this is because I haven't been enjoying the newer episodes as much as the older episodes. I still like them for the most part, but I honestly think the show might be past its best days. At this point, I'm looking more forward to new Equestria Girls material than the main show. However, I've been very much looking forward to the movie. It was co-written by Meghan McCarthy and directed by Jayson Thiessen (who were both key people in the earlier seasons of the show), and I loved everything that was seen leading up to the release.

Sunday, October 1, 2017

Cartoon Network Turns 25

Image source: Liam Biniares
Today marks Cartoon Network's 25th birthday, so I thought I'd do a post about it. This will be done in a similar style as my Nicktoons 25 post. Cartoon Network hasn't gone all out like they did for their 20th birthday, but they aren't ignoring it, either. They made a bumper (though I'm not sure if it will air on TV or not) and had a special sign-on today.

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Classic Review: My Little Pony: The Movie (1986)

Image source: IMDb
With My Little Pony: The Movie hitting theaters next month, I thought it would be a good time to review the other movie with that title. My Little Pony first debuted as a toy from Hasbro called My Pretty Pony in 1981, followed by the first My Little Pony line in 1983. In 1984, Hasbro released a TV special based on the toys that was simply titled My Little Pony when it first aired before being retitled Rescue at Midnight Castle later on, followed by another special titled Escape from Catrina in 1985.

In 1986, Hasbro brought My Little Pony to the big screen before debuting a TV series that same year. It didn't do well at the box office, but it does seem to have at least gained a following with fans of My Little Pony G1.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Welcome to the Wayne

Image source: YouTube
Welcome to the Wayne started out as a series of digital shorts on in 2014. I only just saw them last year, but I quite them and have been looking forward to the series since. It was announced for this year, but for a while, I wasn't sure if it was still coming this year because I hadn't heard much about it, but I was glad to find out it was.