Wednesday, December 31, 2014

People We Lost in 2014


This year, we lost a lot of great people. I thought I'd take the time to remember some of these people and talk about what they're known for. Get it below the break.

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Top 5 Cartoon Network Shows


One of my favorite channels growing up was Cartoon Network, and I still love it today. I'v decided to count down my favorite Cartoon Network shows, with some honorable mentions. Get it below.

Sunday, December 28, 2014

Classic Review: Merry Christmas, Drake & Josh


*WARNING!!! This contains spoilers regarding the ending of Merry Christmas, Drake & Josh. Read at your own risk*

It's no secret that I love Drake & Josh. If you saw my list of my top 5 Nick shows, you know that I placed Drake & Josh at number 1. This show is nothing but a piece of comedy gold and I always have a blast watching it. The show ended in 2007, and then came out with a Christmas movie a year later. Did it hold up to the series well? Let's find out.

Thursday, December 25, 2014

Merry Christmas!


Merry Christmas everypony! I do have a message I want to say. Get it below the break.

Sunday, December 14, 2014

Poll Results: What Is Your Favorite Part of Christmas?


It looks like this one has a tie between family and festivities. My favorite part is the music but I can see why family and festivities won. Get the results below.

Monday, December 1, 2014

Top 5 New Kids Shows of 2014


Today, nickandmore.com starts their annual best new show of the year poll, so I thought I'd do a top 5 list on my favorite new shows among the networks they cover. Get it below.

Sunday, November 30, 2014

Poll results: Which Old Toy Do You Think Should Be Brought Back?


I decided to end this poll early because it didn't seem to be working out. I'm not even going to include the totals. I thought it would be a good idea with Christmas coming up but I guess I was wrong. Only one person voted and it wasn't even me. They voted for Pillow People. As for me, all these toys were before my time (and probably everyone else that comes here) but I thought Pillow People was an interesting idea. They could be the owners of Pillow Pets.

Next Poll: What is your favorite part of Christmas?

Sunday, November 23, 2014

Poll Results: Do You Think Toy Story 4 Is a Good Idea?



It looks like except for some unknown nay-sayer that you all don't mind Toy Story 4. While I thought the last movie reached a satisfying conclusion, I'm always open to a new installment of a franchise I like. Get the results below.

Saturday, November 15, 2014

Mixed Nutz: The Greatest Show That Never Was


There are a lot of shows pitched to networks every year, and more often than not, they get turned down. Some of them, however, have a chance of being great. One of them is Tom Ruegger's Mixed Nutz. He's written about it on his blog, Cartoonatics, and I thought it was the best idea I ever heard. Get more below the break.

Thursday, November 13, 2014

100 Things to Do Before High School


This week, Nickelodeon debuted a new movie called 100 Things to Do Before High School. It's the pilot of an upcoming show of the same name from Scott Fellows, creator of Ned's Declassified, Johnny Test, and Big Time Rush, and former head writer on The Fairly OddParents, all shows I like, though Johnny Test has gotten so bad that I stopped watching it. I'll still watch the older episodes because I like them but a year ago, I finally decided that the newer ones aren't worth my time anymore. I could write an entire post on Johnny Test, but that's not why we're here. Get my review on 100 Things below the break.

Sunday, November 9, 2014

Breadwinners



Greetings! This is Dr. Heinz Doofenshmirtz filling in for PinkiePie97, who's, uhh, on vacation. Yeah, that's it. I didn't lure him into one of my traps if that's what you're thinking. Anyway, he was going to write a review on Breadwinners, but since he's trapped, I mean, on vacation, I'm going to do that for him. Get it below the break.

Poll Results: Which Hanna-Barbera Cartoon Still Making New Episodes/Movies Do You Like Better?



It looks like Tom and Jerry took this one. I'm actually more of a Scooby-Doo fan, but I can see why Tom and Jerry won. Get the results below.

Saturday, November 8, 2014

Top 5 Nick Shows



Like a lot of people, I grew up watching Nickelodeon. I still watch a few shows today, though it's not as good as it used to be. They go a little too far with gross out gags with shows like Sanjay and Craig, and some are just annoying like Breadwinners. I'm not biased between old and new. I judge based on content, and I'm not fond of some of the content. But we're not here to talk about the worst of Nick. We're here to talk about the best of Nick. I've decided to talk about my 5 favorite Nick shows, not including Nick Jr. Get them below.

Sunday, November 2, 2014

Classic Review: My Little Pony Generation 3



Welcome to day three of my reviews of past MLP generations. Today, I will be reviewing what many believe to be the worst generation: G3. Get my review below the break.

Saturday, November 1, 2014

Poll Results: Who is your favorite background pony?



It looks like Vinyl Scratch took this one. She's my favorite too. No, I did not rig it. Get the results below.

Classic Review: My Little Pony Tales



Welcome to day two of my reviews of past MLP generations. Today, I will be reviewing My Little Pony Tales. Before I do, I just want to clear something up. There are a lot of people that think this is part of G2. It's not. It's part of G1. G2 didn't start until 1997, and it had no media adaptions. Anyway, get my review below the break.

Friday, October 31, 2014

Classic Review: My Little Pony Generation 1



For the next 3 days, I'll be reviewing previous generations of My Little Pony. First up, of course, is G1. Get my review below the break.

Saturday, October 25, 2014

Top 5 Underrated Hanna-Barbera Cartoons



I am a big cartoon fan. My favorite animators would have to be William Hanna and Joseph Barbera. If you don't know what I'm talking about, I'll tell you a little. Bill Hanna and Joe Barbera met at MGM in 1939, and created Tom and Jerry. When MGM closed their animation studio in 1957, they started their own called H-B Enterprises, later Hanna-Barbera Cartoons. Some of their biggest hits included The Flintstones, The Jetsons, Jonny Quest, Scooby-Doo, and The Smurfs. I should probably mention that they didn't actually create The Smurfs. It was based on a Belgian comic but they made the TV series. Hanna died in 2001 and Barbera died in 2006. Some of their shows don't get as much attention as I think they should. So I decided to count down the top 5 underrated Hanna-Barbera cartoons. Keep in mind that I haven't seen all their shows, and the ones on this list I've only seen a few episodes of so I don't have much to say, so I could post an updated list someday, but you can get the current list below the break.

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Remembering The Hub



With The Hub now off the air, I thought I'd do a little look back at it. Get my reminisce below the break.

Monday, October 20, 2014

Poll: Who is your favorite background pony?



The first poll in the history of this blog: Who is your favorite background pony? Hit it on the side!

Sunday, October 19, 2014

My Little Pony: Equestria Girls: Rainbow Rocks




*Warning: This contains spoilers regarding the ending of Rainbow Rocks. Read at your own risk.*

As you all know, the sequel to Equestria Girls is now out. At first, I wasn't sure what this would be but I kept hearing that it was much better than the first one. Get the review below the break.

Saturday, October 18, 2014

Welcome to The Acme Reviewer




Welcome to The Acme Reviewer, a blog where I review various TV shows and movies I've seen. Why did I pick that name? Acme seems to be the name of a lot of fake brands. On Looney Tunes, it's the brand of traps Will E. Coyote uses to try to trap the Road Runner. In an episode of I Love Lucy, the Ricardos and Mertzes ate at a fancy French restaurant where the entire menu was in French except for the copyright that said "Acme Printing Corporation." More recently, on Candid Camera, Peter Funt posed as a door to door app salesman and he told his customers that the name of the company he represents was Acme. In this post, I'm going to explain what exactly I'll be doing with this blog. And if you want to write your own reviews here, let me know in the comments and I'll make you an author. I can't promise it will happen right away but it will happen eventually. The first person might have tootle me how. I tried to figure it out myself and got as far as the page where you can select a new author but I'm not sure what I'm supposed to type in the box. Anyway, here's what will be happening in my posts:

ReviewsThe main purpose of the site. I write a brief summary of what I saw, say what I think, and grade it on a scale of 1 to 5.

Classic ReviewsThis is the same as the first one, except I'll be reviewing older stuff.

Top 5 ListsI rank a my top 5 favorites an a variety of categories.

Polls: Polls I do on things related and unrelated to MLP.

So this is basically it. If I start doing something else, i will edit it into this post, not write about it in a new one. I hope you enjoy my blog. This is PinkiePie97 signing off!

Friday, October 17, 2014