Sunday, December 13, 2015

Classic Review: My Little Pony Generation 3


Out of all the My Little Pony generations, this is the one people hate the most. Most people complain that it's too girly and stupid. This was released as direct to video specials from 2003-09. Also, to clarify, I am not writing a separate review for G3.5. It's just the same characters with different looks so I think I can cover it in this review. So is this actually good, or is it as bad as people say?

Saturday, December 12, 2015

Classic Review: My Little Pony Tales


Next in My re-review of pre-G4 My Little Pony generations is My Little Pony Tales, which aired on Disney Channel (back when it was a premium network) for one season in 1992. Episodes of this series were paired with the 1980s MLP series. I said this in the original review and I'll say it again here: People think this was part of G2 but it's actually not. It was on the end of G1 (though by the time this aired the toys were no longer being released in the U.S.). G2 started in 1997, and it's only media adaption was a video game released in 1998 that I won't be reviewing because I haven't played it, and I don't think I know enough about video games to review one anyway. With that said, is this show any good?

Friday, December 11, 2015

Classic Review: My Little Pony Generation 1


I know I already did this but I can explain. I originally reviewed this over a year ago when I was still new to reviewing. My style has changed a bit as I saw how some YouTubers do it and I think I can do better now. The other reason is because my opinion on Tales and G3 have changed since I reviewed them. I don''t think they're awesome, but I actually like them now. I'll go a little more into them when I review them. So I'll be reviewing all pre-G4 My Little Pony generations again. Like last time, I'll be rolling them out throughout the weekend. If you liked my original reviews, don't worry. They're not going anywhere.

This of course will start with the 1980s My Little Pony series. It started with two specials that aired in 1984 and 1985. It was followed by feature film in 1986 then a TV series aired in syndication for 2 seasons from 1986-87. With that said, is it any good?

Saturday, November 14, 2015

The Peanuts Movie


I've been watching Peanuts specials since I was 5. There are actually still a lot I haven't seen. It's mostly the holiday specials that air every year, though I do want to see more. In 2012, it was announced that 20th Century Fox and Blue Sky Studios would be making a Peanuts movie. The movie was the idea of Charles Schulz's son Craig and Craig's son Bryan, who helped write and produce the film. This is the 5th Peanuts theatrical release, with the first 4 being A Boy Named Charlie Brown (1969), Snoopy, Come Home (1972), Race for Your Life, Charlie Brown (1977), and Bon Voyage, Charlie Brown (and Don't Come Back!!). With that said, was this a good Peanuts Movie?

Sunday, October 11, 2015

Be Cool, Scooby-Doo!


My all time favorite cartoon is Scooby-Doo. I loved it as a kid and I still love it today. The last series, Scooby-Doo Mystery Inc. was a good show and I liked it but I was never a huge fan because it was darker than Scooby usually is. The next series, BeCool,Scooby-Doo!, is a return to Scooby's comedic roots. Is it any good?

Wednesday, September 16, 2015

How will The Splat launch? #2

A couple days ago I wrote a post about a new channel Nickelodeon is launching called The Splat. I wrote about how I thought it would replace TeenNick. Now it might be based on a lie. Yesterday Variety reported that it's going to be a programming block. It did not say what channel it would be on or what times it would air and stuff like that. MTV reported that it will be a channel and given available information I don't know what it could be. The other post will stay up regardless of what happens because I feel it was a good prediction with the information I had but I decided to write another post explaining why it could go either way.

Monday, September 14, 2015

How will The Splat launch?


Nick is apparently launching a new sister network called The Splat. Not much is known about it at this time. News of this surfaced on Friday. It included a website that had links to social media platforms and a video that I'll include below the break. and I initially assumed it was a rebrand of the 90s Are All That, but then yesterday MTV reported that it's a new channel for 1990s Nick shows. It's basically going to be Nick's version of pre-rebrand Boomerang. So far just Nicktoons have been confirmed to be on the channel but I haven't ruled out live action.

I decided to write a post on it where I make a prediction on something that will happen involving this channel. I could talk about whether or not I think this is a good idea or how I think it will do after a few years (though I might do a post on one of those some other time) but today I'm going to talk about how I think it will launch. how I think it will launch. Will it replace an existing channel and if so which one, or will it launch as a standalone channel with little availability?

Sunday, August 9, 2015

Classic Review: Sailor Moon

This review has no header because it's probably the only way I can do this without being taken down.

If you know me, then you probably know that I don't really watch anime. The reason for that is because I've seen clips and there are features I can appreciate, but nothing is really pulling me in. There is however one that I finally checked out, and that show is called Sailor Moon. It aired in the 1990s and was based on a manga of the same name. I've known about it for a while but never had enough interest to watch it But now I decided to give it a shot. I've seen up to episode 7 and what did I think?

Monday, July 27, 2015

Bugs Bunny Turns 75


I almost forgot to do this today. Shame on me! I should know stuff like this. I planned this months ago and thought about scheduling it then but didn't. Anyway, today marks the 75th anniversary of the debut of my favorite fictional character, Bugs Bunny. I realize my name should be Bugs97 or BugsBunny97 but if my online name was going to be named after a character, then I wanted it to reflect me being a brony. Anyway, a character that would evolve into Bugs first appeared in Porky's Hare Hunt (1938) before the version people recognize appeared in A Wild Hare, which was released on this day in 1940. It was also the first appearance of Elmer Fudd under his recognizable name (he was previously known as Egghead).

Saturday, July 18, 2015

Classic Review: Tiny Toons: One Beer


It's been a while since I've done one of these. My excuse is I don't have one. I'm just lazy. But there is something I want to talk about. This won't be exactly in my normal style. I'll still be covering the story and my thoughts on it, as well as scoring it on a scale from 1 to 5, but I'm also going to talk about the controversy surrounding it. I'm talking about the Tiny Toons segment One Beer. It was the third segment of an episode called Elephant Issues, where Gogo wanted to cover today's (or more like 1991's) issues.

The first two segments (Why Dizzy Can't Read, which covered Dizzy's addiction to TV; and C.L.I.D.E. and the Prejudice, which covered Monty's discrimination against a robot student) were fine, but the third segment, One Beer, involved alcohol throughout the episode and had Buster, Plucky, and Hamton getting drunk. This was enough for Elephant Issues to only air once during Tiny Toons' original run, and it also wasn't seen in syndication. The episode was later released on DVD, and finally aired again when The Hub started airing the series and continued after the switch to Discovery Family. So did this episode deserve to be banned? Let's find out.

Friday, June 12, 2015

Powerpuff Girls Reboot: My Thoughts So Far


It's no secret that I love The Powerpuff Girls. It's my all time favorite Cartoon Network show. There's a reboot coming out and some new details were announced earlier this week. I've talked about my thoughts in the comments section of a few articles and I've also talked about it on my Twitter feed, but I still wanted to write a post about it. Get my thoughts below.

Saturday, May 30, 2015

Boomerang Rebrand 2015: Further Thoughts


Back on January 24, I wrote a post explaining my thoughts on the Boomerang rebrand. But I don't get Boomerang at home, so I could only base my opinion on YouTube videos I found. But I spent last weekend at a place that does get Boomerang. I watched it, and unsurprisingly, I have more thoughts on the new look. Get them below.

Saturday, May 16, 2015

New Muppet Show: My Thoughts


I love The Muppets. I have several of their movies on DVD and VHS as well as the first 3 seasons of The Muppet Show. I'd also have seasons 4 and 5, but they're not on DVD. This week, ABC announced at their upfront that they picked up a new show called The Muppets, which airs Tuesdays this fall. I thought I'd write a post about my thoughts on this. Get them below.

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Sofia the First


When it comes to preschool shows, this is how it is for me: I still like most of the ones I grew up with to the point of still watching them once in a while. There are a couple I don't really like anymore, such as Dora the Explorer and Littler Einsteins. I liked them back in the day, and they're good for some nostalgia (especially Dora) but otherwise I can't really stand to watch them anymore.

I don't try the newer ones because I doubt I'd like them or they wouldn't be my thing. But apparently, Sofia the First has a small fanbase outside it's target audience, including a 19 year old guy I follow on Twitter, and if he's reading this, then he probably knows I'm talking about him. I mostly ignored it for a while before I decided to watch a few episodes. Get my review below.

Monday, April 20, 2015

Commenting Rules


I decided that I should lay out some rules for commenting on this site. No one has caused any problems, but I figured I should probably lay out some rules before anyone does. If you move your cursor over a comment and click on the down arrow, you'll see an option listed as "Flag as inappropriate" (or, if you're not logged into Disqus/don't have an account, you'll just see the flag by moving the cursor over the comment). I read all the comments, but I miss things sometimes, so if you think someone is breaking the rules, please flag them. If you sou break any rules, I will give you warnings to stop. If it goes on long enough, you will be banned. It may be temporary at first, but if it keeps up, it will be permanent. Get the rules below.

Sunday, April 19, 2015

Penguins of Madagascar


NOTE: If you wish to skip the story, I will include a message in this color and font at the end.

One of my favorite movie franchises is Madagascar. I like all three movies and the Penguins TV series. In fact, I like the TV series more than the movies. When it first came out, I would watch whenever it was on. Production ended in 2012, but there are still 6 unaired episodes in the U.S. I really want to see one of them because Doris the Dolphin is in it. I don't know if they'll ever air. Nicktoons aired one in February, but other than that, it hasn't been new since November 2012. I When I heard the penguins would be starring in their own movie, I was really looking forward to it. Does it live up to it's potential? Let's find out. And before I start, I should mention that this is unrelated to the TV series.

Friday, April 3, 2015

Say Uncle (Steven Universe-Uncle Grandpa Crossover)


*WARNING: This review gives away the ending. Read at your own risk.*

When I first heard Steven Universe would be crossing over with Uncle Grandpa, I had mixed feelings because I have very different opinions on both shows. I like Steven Universe because of the story and characters. Uncle Grandpa, on the other hand,is a different story. The style of humor is to weird for me, and overall, I just think it's stupid. Apparently, it has some Tex Avery influence, which I like seeing anywhere, but Uncle Grandpa doesn't have much else going for it. Overall, I hate it. Normally, I don't do episode reviews because I generally like most episodes of most shows I like, but in this case, I'll make an exception. Get it below.

Monday, March 30, 2015

Harvey Beaks


I don't like a whole lot of modern Nicktoons, specifically Sanjay and Craig and Breadwinners. I actually did watch Sanjay and Craig for a while and a few episodes weren't too bad, but the only one I really liked was Trouble Dare, and that was only because it was a crossover with an old Nick game show called Double Dare. Breadwinners is a different story. When I saw the promo for it, I said "Forget it. This show looks horrible." I finally watched a few episodes and didn't like it at all. Harvey Beaks, however, is a show I've been looking forward to because it was created by C.H. Greenblatt, the creator of Chowder. So how did that work out? Get my review below.

Sunday, March 29, 2015

2015 Kids' Choice Awards: My Thoughts


Last night was the 28th Annual Nickelodeon Kids' Choice Awards. Initially, I was going to write a post listing the winners since Nick and More shut down earlier this month, but I decided to write an opinion post instead. This is more of an opinion site than a news site anyway.
 If you want to know who won, go here. Otherwise, get my thoughts below.

Sunday, March 8, 2015

R.I.P. Nick and More

If the owner of Nick and More see this, I hope he doesn't mind me using this.

Yesterday, my favorite news site, nickandmore.com, did a final post saying that it's ending. I decided to write a post about it, mainly to convey a message to the owner, as I will be mentioning the site's Twitter handle when I tweet this so there's a chance he'll see this, but others can read this to hear my thoughts. Get it below the break. And if the owner does see this, my message doesn't start until the final three paragraphs.

Sunday, March 1, 2015

Oggy and the Cockroaches


This week, Nickelodeon debuted an animated series called Oggy and the Cockroaches. Will it be something better than what Nick has to offer in the animation department these days, or was it just low quality like most of the modern Nicktoons. Get my review below.

Sunday, February 22, 2015

2015 Kids' Choice Awards: My Predictions


This past Friday, the nominees for the 2015 Kids' Choice Awards were announced. So I thought I'd lay out my predictions for the winners. Keep in mind that these won't necessarily what I want to win. I also won't be covering every category because I don't know much about all of the nominees. If I cover a category I don't know much about, it's because it seemed obvious. To see who's nominated, click here, and to vote, click here. Get my predictions below the break.

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Tom and Jerry Turns 75

Source

On this day in 1940, MGM released the first cartoon from directors William Hanna and Joseph Barbera called Puss Gets the Boot. It was about a cat named Jasper who's owner Mammy Two Shoes says she will kick him out of the house for good if he makes one more mess. A mouse is determined to make sure he gets kicked out. This short was so popular, that producer Fred Quimby wanted Hanna and Barbera to make more cat and mouse cartoons. This was the start of Tom and Jerry. They had different names and looks in Puss Gets the Boot. As I mentioned, Tom was originally named Jasper, while Jerry was never referred to by name. According to Hanna, the mouse's name was Jinx, while Barbera claimed that he did't have a name. The first short where they were Tom and Jerry, The Midnight Snack, was released on July 19, 1941. Since then, Tom and Jerry enjoyed a long popularity run that still goes on today, and is my second favorite cartoon, behind Scooby-Doo.

Saturday, January 24, 2015

Boomerang Rebrand 2015: My Thoughts

Boomerang's New Logo

After using the same bumpers for 15 years, Boomerang has rebranded this past Monday, January 19. I decided to write down my thoughts on it. Get it below.

Monday, January 19, 2015

Star vs. the Forces of Evil


Last night Disney Channel previewed two 11 minute episodes of a new animated series called Star vs. the Forces of Evil, which will air on Disney XD later this year. It's noted for being only the second Disney animated TV series created by a woman (the first being Sue Rose's Pepper Ann). Get my review below the break.