Monday, December 19, 2016

Albert

Image Source: NickALive!
On December 9, Nick debuted their first original animated TV movie, Albert. Created by brothers Will and Aaron Eisenberg, it was originally pitched as a feature film, but Nick ordered it as a TV movie instead. I know I've said before that Sanjay and Craig and Breadwinners have left me a little less than optimistic for new animated content from Nick, but Harvey Beaks (despite Nicks's treatment of it) and The Loud House have helped. Albert was at least a success ratings-wise, with the premiere bringing in 2,403,000 viewers. But did the quality reflect these ratings?

Sunday, November 13, 2016

Mighty Magiswords

Image Source: Cartoon Brew
In September, Cartoon Network debuted a show called Mighty Magiswords. Created by Kyle A. Carrozza, it started out as a series of short's on Cartoon Network's website. I've been aware of the shorts or a while now, but haven't seen any of them (and still haven't, I'll get to it eventually), so this was all new to me. Leading up to it's premiere though, I could tell that this was something people were interested in. So did this live up to the hype?

Sunday, October 23, 2016

Classic Review: Ruby Gloom


Consider this my Halloween review (even though I've never done any actual seasonal reviews of any sort in the past). Ruby Gloom aired on YTV in Canada from 2006-08. However, it never aired in the U.S. Yet, from what I've seen, it still gained fans and even merchandise (apparently, it started out like that in 2002). Yet, it managed to go under my radar until the beginning of the month, when a friend I have on the ToonZone forums started using a picture of Ruby on her bike from the theme song as his avatar. Turns out, it's on Netflix (only the first season, though), so I decided to watch some episodes. Have I been missing out on something?

Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Classic Review: KaBlam!


I never watched KaBlam! when it aired on Nick. It started a year before I was born, I was only 2 when it ended, and reruns stopped airing the same year I started watching Nick. I never watched it on Nicktoons either. Plus, despite running for 4 seasons, it somewhat faded into obscurity. Honestly, I never had that much interest in watching it until I found out it was going to air on The Splat as part of their Nicktoons 25th Anniversary celebration (and also in time for the show's 20th anniversary). So I decided to check it out because I knew people did like it and was curious myself. So is this show any good?

Sunday, October 2, 2016

Site Updates

I've just got through making a few additions to the blog, so I thought it would be a good idea to make a post about them.

About

Welcome to The Acme Reviewer, my blog where I review TV shows and movies! I also sometimes write general opinion pieces as well. Most of what I write about is cartoons because that's my biggest interest, but occasionally, if something live action grabs my attention enough, I might write about that as well.

I try to put out at least one post per month, maybe more if I'm on a roll. I don't have a set schedule beyond that, so keep checking back for updates, or enter your e-mail address in the box on the sidebar to be notified when I make a new post. I hope to be able to entertain you with what I post.

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Classic Review: The Powerpuff Girls Movie


Cartoon Network debuted The Powerpuff Girls in 1998. It quickly became a big hit for them and it spawned a lot of merchandise. In 2002, Cartoon Network released a feature film based on the show. While it alright critically, it did;'t do so well financially. It made enough to cover it's budget, but that was still only $11 million. Craig McCracken said in a 2013 interview (that can now only be seen archived here) that he thinks one of the reasons it flopped is that a lot of the boys that watched it in the privacy of their own homes didn't want to be seen watching it in public. So was this another great installment of a great series? Or did it flop for more than one big reason?

Thursday, August 11, 2016

Nicktoons Turns 25


On this day in 1991, Nick debuted Doug, Rugrats, and Ren & Stimpy, it's first 3 original animated series, which were called Nicktoons. 25 years later, Nick has made a lot more Nicktoons and has been celebrating Nicktoons' 25th anniversary on social media all year. To celebrate myself, I thought I'd write a post about how Nicktoons has been for me over the years.

Friday, July 1, 2016

The Teen Titans Go! and Powerpuff Girls Completely Organic Crossover Special


Teen Titans Go! and the new Powerpuff Girls are two reboots that get a lot of hate. I actually like the new Powerpuff Girls. You may recall I gave it a positive review back in April after it's first week of premieres. While it did have it's haters then, a lot of people still thought it was anywhere between okay and good. A lot of those people started hating it after the second week of premieres. Not me. (I probably would've written another post if I had.) I still think it's good. Teen Titans Go!, on the other hand, I do hate. I tried it when it came out, and I gave up on it after 6 episodes. I saw a few episodes since then, and I still didn't like it. The humor and writing ruin it for me. I also don't like how it attacks older fans that criticize it when it could easily just ignore them.

When I heard about this crossover, I wasn't sure what to think. It reminded me of when Steven Universe and Uncle Grandpa crossed over (which I reviewed as well). It was one show I like crossing over with one I don't like. If this was 10 years ago, it would've been a lot cooler, but we're not talking about the original versions, unfortunately. There was Cartoon Network's city era, but I don't remember if they interacted or not. I've heard people say they didn't. So is this actually good? Or is it as bad as anything else from Teen Titans Go?

Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Finding Dory


I loved watching Finding Nemo growing up. I still love it today. When I was a kid, I was always unsure what my favorite movie is, but now I can definitely say that it's Finding Nemo. Finding Nemo is a movie that didn't really need a sequel, but I'm always open to new installments of shows and movies I like. So when they announced Finding Dory in 2013, I said "Alright, hope it's good." 3 years later, and it's finally out. Initially, it was announced for last November, but swapped places with The Good Dinosaur (and I'm glad because likely due to too much competition it flopped, something I would've hated to see happen to this). So is it a good sequel? Or does it make Finding Nemo something that should've been left untouched?

Monday, June 20, 2016

Over the Garden Wall


Over the Garden Wall is a miniseries that aired on Cartoon Network from November 3-7, 2014. I didn't watch it when it aired. I don't remember why. Then several times, I planned to watch it, but something else would always grab my attention and I would forget about it. Then a few days ago, a friend of mine started writing about it on his DeviantArt and I think that's what pushed me to finally watch it. So is it as good as everyone says it is, or is it highly overrated?

Thursday, June 9, 2016

Pickle and Peanut


Pickle and Peanut is a show I originally intended to watch when it premiered. It was created by Noah Z. Jones, who previously created Fish Hooks, which I liked, so I decided to give this a shot. But I missed it, and then it started getting a lot of hate, and while Fish Hooks had it's fair share of criticism as well, it wasn't this bad. So I said "Hmm. Maybe there's better things I could be watching." and held this off for months. But I still wanted to review it, so I finally watched a few episodes. Is it as bad as everyone says, or is it actually good?

Sunday, May 8, 2016

Classic Review: Rugrats Pre-School Daze


Rugrats is a show that brings back memories for me. I remember watching it every night at 7:30 back in 2002/03 (I forget if it was one or both), and it was probably the first show I watched on regular Nick (meaning not Nick Jr.). Today, it's still one of my favorite Nicktoons. In 2003, it got a spin-off called All Grown Up!, which I liked too. But it also had a second spin-off that I don't think as many people are familiar with. It's called Rugrats Pre-School Daze. I never even heard of this show until 2011, and didn't watch it until this month so I could review it. From what little I have heard of it, it isn't that good. But I also liked All Grown Up!, so maybe I'll feel different. Is it actually good, or is it obscure for a reason?

Saturday, May 7, 2016

The Loud House


This week, Nick debuted a new Nicktoon called The Loud House. It was created by Chris Savino, who's known for his work on Dexter's Laboratory and The Powerpuff Girls, and was the showrunner on the last 2 seasons of both. I know there is a lot of hate on his episodes, but I actually like them. They weren't as good as when they were run by their creators, but I still found them enjoyable.

His first show, the Loud House, was announced nearly 2 years ago. It started out as a 2 1/2 minute short that was released online. It wasn't bad, but I wasn't really a fan of the humor. Based on what the short was about, it could've been just for that. Was that the case, or is this not that good a show?

Saturday, April 9, 2016

The Powerpuff Girls (2016)


After almost 2 years, The Powerpuff Girls reboot is finally out. A lot of people were worried it would be awful (I'm guessing Teen Titans Go! might have had something to do with that). I didn't jump to that conclusion and instead waited to actually watch it. As clips for the show started being released, opinion became split. Some thought it looked good and others thought it looked bad. So is it good, or is it another Teen Titans Go!?

Sunday, March 20, 2016

Classic Review: Powerpuff Girls Z

This review has no header because it's probably the only way I can do this without being taken down.

With The Powerpuff Girls reboot coming out in a couple weeks, I decided to look into the anime. Originally, I saw one episode a few years ago and I thought it was weird but I didn't really know what to expect from anime back then. Now that I've seen a few animes, I have a better idea of what to expect, and with the reboot coming, I decided to try it again. So did I find it a lot better this time, or is it still weird?

Sunday, February 21, 2016

Miraculous: Tales of Ladybug and Cat Noir


When this show first came out, I didn't really care much for it. I didn't see a whole lot of hype for it, nor did I see any clips either (I think someone in the Toonzone forums said they didn't see it advertised until the day before it premiered). So I was surprised to see it blow up in popularity the way it did. Now I rarely go a whole day without seeing anything about this show in my Twitter timeline. I think what finally pushed me to watch it was when it placed second in Nick and More's Best New Show of 2015 poll, placing above shows like Star vs. the Forces of Evil, Harvey Beaks, and We Bare Bears. So is this show all it's hyped up to be, or is it overrated?

Sunday, January 17, 2016

Disqus Comments


Blogger will stop supporting IntenseDebate soon, so I had to switch to another system. I've installed Disqus, which is used by many other sites as well. To comment, create a free Disqus account (if you don't already have one) or you can sign in with your Facebook, Twitter, or Google account. You can also comment anonymously. If you liked the old comments, I was able to migrate most them over so they're still there. I noticed a couple of posts didn't have comments (my second review of MLP G3 and the test post). They're still in the site's ID history, so I reposted them manually, but they won't say that they were posted when they originally were. I didn't care about the test post. I don't know why some didn't migrate. I don't know if I had a bad connection or what. Maybe they'll show up later? If you think comments are missing on any other posts, let me know, and I may or may not repost them, depending on if I feel like it or not.