Saturday, November 18, 2017

DuckTales (2017)

Image source: Google Play
I've never seen much of the original DuckTales. It was a little before my time, and if I did see it when I was a kid, I was probably really young and don't remember it. I did, however, see a little leading up to the reboot, and I like what I did see. When I heard that it was being rebooted, I was indifferent since I didn't have any memories of the original, although I did like what we got leading up to the premiere.

Friday, October 13, 2017

My Little Pony: The Movie (2017)

Image source: Equestria Daily
When I started this blog nearly 3 years ago, I considered myself a brony (with my first review even being of the second Equestria Girls movie), and still do to some extent, but I'm not as into MLP as I used to be. I think this is because I haven't been enjoying the newer episodes as much as the older episodes. I still like them for the most part, but I honestly think the show might be past its best days. At this point, I'm looking more forward to new Equestria Girls material than the main show. However, I've been very much looking forward to the movie. It was co-written by Meghan McCarthy and directed by Jayson Thiessen (who were both key people in the earlier seasons of the show), and I loved everything that was seen leading up to the release.

Sunday, October 1, 2017

Cartoon Network Turns 25

Image source: Liam Biniares
Today marks Cartoon Network's 25th birthday, so I thought I'd do a post about it. This will be done in a similar style as my Nicktoons 25 post. Cartoon Network hasn't gone all out like they did for their 20th birthday, but they aren't ignoring it, either. They made a bumper (though I'm not sure if it will air on TV or not) and had a special sign-on today.

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Classic Review: My Little Pony: The Movie (1986)

Image source: IMDb
With My Little Pony: The Movie hitting theaters next month, I thought it would be a good time to review the other movie with that title. My Little Pony first debuted as a toy from Hasbro called My Pretty Pony in 1981, followed by the first My Little Pony line in 1983. In 1984, Hasbro released a TV special based on the toys that was simply titled My Little Pony when it first aired before being retitled Rescue at Midnight Castle later on, followed by another special titled Escape from Catrina in 1985.

In 1986, Hasbro brought My Little Pony to the big screen before debuting a TV series that same year. It didn't do well at the box office, but it does seem to have at least gained a following with fans of My Little Pony G1.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Welcome to the Wayne

Image source: YouTube
Welcome to the Wayne started out as a series of digital shorts on Nick.com in 2014. I only just saw them last year, but I quite them and have been looking forward to the series since. It was announced for this year, but for a while, I wasn't sure if it was still coming this year because I hadn't heard much about it, but I was glad to find out it was.

Saturday, July 22, 2017

OK K.O.! Let's Be Heroes

Image source: RegularCapital
OK K.O.! started out as a pilot Cartoon Network released in 2013, followed by a series of online shorts in 2016. It was created by Ian Jones-Quarty, who was previously known for his work on Adventure Time and Secret Mountain Fort Awesome, and has since worked on Steven Universe. I don't think I liked the pilot and shorts as much as others seemed to, but I liked them nonetheless and was glad when I heard it was picked up to full series.

It doesn't premiere on TV until August 1, but the first 6 episodes were released on the Cartoon Network website, app, and On Demand on June 13. As of this writing, none of them require a cable log in on the app or website (though I don't know if it's geoblocked outside the U.S.).

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Billy Dilley's Super-Duper Subterranean Summer

Image source: Disney XD
I wasn't sure what to expect from Billy Dilley. It did have my attention because it was created by Aaron Springer (who's known for his work on SpongeBob) and the writing staff has SpongeBob alumni on it. When the previews started being released, it didn't exactly get the most positive reaction, but I still went into it with an open mind.

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Samurai Jack Season 5

Image source: ComingSoon.net
Before I begin, I know I don't normally include spoilers in these reviews, but I'm not sure how to fully explain my thoughts on this without going into spoilers, so I'm going to make an exception here. I won't start with the spoilers yet, but I'll let you all know when I do.

When it was announced that a new season of Samurai Jack with Genndy Tartakovsky's involvement was coming to Adult Swim, I wasn't as excited as others were. I was happy for Genndy and those that wanted it, but at the time, I wasn't really into Samurai Jack. I tried it once before and didn't think it was bad, but it couldn't really hold my attention. Then this past January, Adult Swim started airing reruns, so I tried it again and this time, I got into it. I've still only seen a handful of episodes from the first 4 seasons, but now I was definitely looking forward to season 5.

Saturday, April 15, 2017

Bunsen is a Beast!

Image source: Business Wire
There was once a time I considered Butch Hartman one of the best creators in the animation industry. But I don't think his work is that good anymore. I thought the older Fairly OddParents episodes and Danny Phantom were both great, but I find modern Fairly OddParents to be awful, and I liked T.U.F.F. Puppy at first, but it wasn't long before I feel that got bad as well. Because of his track record in recent years, I honestly didn't have much hope for his next show, Bunsen is a Beast!. But I still gave it a shot. So is this Butch getting better again? Or is it another example of how his work isn't good anymore?

Monday, March 13, 2017

Hanazuki: Full of Treasures

Image source: YouTube
On January 12, Hasbro debuted their first digital series, Hanazuki: Full of Treasures. It was first created in 2005 by Dutch art director Niko Stumpo and partner Hanneke Metselaar. They started selling their own creations and one product that took off was Hanazuki. Hasbro later purchased the rights to their company. For more on the history of Hanazuki, a blogger named Dandelion Sprout did a good job writing about it.

As for the series, it has Dave Polsky, who's known for his work on My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic, serving as co-executive producer and story editor. I wasn't really sure what to expect from it, but I was willing to give it a shot. Was it any good?

Monday, February 20, 2017

The Lion Guard

Image Source: ComingSoon.net
A movie I've always liked is The Lion King. It's been a while since I've seen The Lion King 2 that I'm not going to make an opinion on it, but I also liked The Lion King 1 1/2. I also enjoyed the first Lion King based TV series, Timon & Pumbaa (even though I only saw some episodes when Disney Junior aired in in 2012). When The Lion Guard was first announced, I was initially going to pass on it since it was a Disney Junior show. Nothing against Disney Junior, but I kind of outgrew it back when it was Playhouse Disney. Though I haven't heard much bad things about their shows (I actually gave Sofia the First a favorable review once, though I'm honestly only interested enough to watch sometimes).

Then in summer 2015, I saw a preview that I actually thought pretty good. Suddenly, it became the first upcoming preschool show I was interested in in years (unless you count The 7D before it was announced for Disney XD instead). I saw the TV movie that started the series, then fell behind for a while due to laziness. But I'm caught up now. So is this show as good as the preview made it look?

Sunday, January 15, 2017

Milo Murphy's Law

Image Source: Nerdist
Milo Murphy's Law is a new show from Phineas and Ferb creators Dan Povenmire and Jeff "Swampy" Marsh. There was a time when I was really into Phineas and Ferb, and I still like it, so I was definitely interested in checking this out. Initially, I planned to review this in November, but then some other stuff got my attention, so I pushed this back in order to make sure I'd have something for every month. At the time, I thought that might be beneficial because I thought I'd get more episodes to work with, but there hasn't been any new episodes since. But I think I still got enough to work with.